Flash mobs, etc, and why I miss out

Ever passed some form of loud performance in a shopping centre, train station, or other public place?  What do you do:  stop to watch, look over as you continue on your path, join in, record it on your phone?

Or maybe you barely acknowledge that they are there and walk on by.  Unfortunately, yes, this is what I do.  I know I could be missing out on something fun, something really entertaining, something memorable, so why don’t I watch?

Because I think that’s what they want you to do.

What is this strange act to which I follow?  I do not know.  It’s not like the performers are some kind of vain attention seekers; they aren’t following people around the station with a guitar until you acknowledge the brilliance of their existence.

I’m not jealous of these performers, I don’t dislike them, I don’t find them annoying at all.  In fact, it’s the opposite.  I applaud their confidence, their willingness to show their talent, their want to spread happiness to others and wanting to be a part of something.  And I outwardly express all of the above feelings by showing ignorance and a complete lack of interest.

Maybe it’s some strange kind of rebellion. “Everyone is crowding round and looking, so I’m not going to!”

Maybe it’s some kind of nonchalant display of ‘coolness’.  “Yeah, something is going on over there.  I know.   Whatever.  I’m going this way instead.”

Whatever the reason, I’m sure I am missing out on some good stuff.  I know this, and yet, I’m pretty sure that I would end up doing the same thing as usual if I saw some entertainment event tomorrow.

Now…people who unnecessarily rev their engines.  I totally know why and am 100% fine with why I don’t look at them:

Because I know that’s what they want you to do.

Leave a Reply

